Home > Municipal > Current electoral map > Delimitation of municipal electoral districts > Compliance


Commission de la représentation électorale

Municipalities with less than 20,000 inhabitants that choose to divide their territories into electoral districts must first pass a by-law in compliance with chapters III and IV of Title 1 of the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities. This by-law is made public and a copy is transmitted to the CRE.

The compliance by-law must be in force during the second calendar year preceding the year in which a general election is to be held. The compliance is not irrevocable.