Home > Provincial > Voting > Special measures > Special procedures for remote regions

Special procedures for remote regions

Electoral divisions concerned

Due to the remoteness of certain communities of the electoral divisions of Abitibi-Est, Berthier, Duplessis, Gatineau, Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Lac-Saint-Jean, Laviolette-Saint-Maurice, Pontiac, Rivière-du-Loup-Témiscouata, Rouyn-Noranda-Témiscamingue and Ungava, special procedures are adopted to facilitate registration on the list of electors and the exercise of the right to vote.

Use of additional means

These specific procedures allow you to:

  • submit a request for a change to the electoral list by fax during the special revision period;
  • vote in advance by mail;
  • submit nomination papers by fax.

At the time of an election, we post the list of communities by electoral division that are affected by these measures. A special version of the Voter's Manual is also distributed to the electors of the communities in question.

Additional information

For more information, you can contact our Information Centre.