Home > Netiquette


Our office must respect the confidentiality of any personal information that users may transmit to it. Nevertheless, users are strongly urged to contact our Information Centre directly, at 1-888-ELECTION (1-888-353-2846), or by email, at info@electionsquebec.qc.ca, for any questions requiring access to their personal file. Please protect your personal information and that of other net surfers; prudence and discretion are in order when surfing the net. We cannot process a case or a personal file on the social media.

Whether it involves initiating a discussion, asking a question, expressing a point of view, or providing constructive criticism, we value your opinion. Our accounts address people of all political persuasions, and the institution encourages exchanges of opinion and open and respectful debate. All observations will be taken into account, except for the following:

  • Incomprehensible remarks;
  • Slanderous, hateful, racist, homophobic, sexist, xenophobic, or generally unacceptable remarks;
  • Hurtful, vulgar or offensive remarks;
  • Unlawful remarks;
  • Remarks that include personal or confidential data;
  • Actual or dissimulated advertising, as well as propaganda; and/or
  • Messages published on numerous occasions, or that are completely off topic.

Exchanges and the sharing of ideas are appreciated and encouraged, but we will not tolerate any attack upon those expressing their ideas. Hence remarks that violate netiquette will be altered or removed. So as to foster respectful discussions, we will remove all offensive remarks. It is important to hold a discussion that benefits all users; it is much less interesting when a discussion becomes a private debate involving only a few participants.

Usurping another person’s identity is a serious offense. Anyone using a false account or multiple identities will be denied access privileges, and officials in charge of the social media concerned will be alerted regarding the individual in question.

Exchanges on our different social accounts must be identified; however, a net surfer may consult these accounts anonymously. It should be recalled that everything published online is indexed by the various search engines and will not necessarily be withdrawn, even upon the author’s request. This is why all remarks voiced on the social media need to be carefully considered in advance.

A number of employees at our office have accounts with certain social media, such as Twitter and Facebook, and some will self identify as employees of the institution. Notwithstanding their professional affiliation, their messages and stances do not represent our official position and must be considered as personal opinions only.

The addition of hyperlinks to other sites is authorized if the content is appropriate and in line with the discussions or subjects addressed. Advertising and contamination will not be tolerated. In no case do we endorse these third-party sites or their content.

If you wish to publish photos or videos on one of our online platforms, please make sure that the files belong to the public domain and that you have the consent of the author and the person(s) appearing in them.

Users violating the rules of netiquette outlined herein may see their input removed and their privileged access to our account suspended.

Given the rapid pace at which the social media are evolving, we reserve the right to change these rules of use at any time and without prior notice. Please do not hesitate to consult this page on a regular basis.

Rules pertaining to certain social media

Facebook: We have no control over, are not responsible for, and do not in any way endorse, the intuitive advertising automatically generated by Facebook on the sides of the institution’s page, including publicity of a political nature. All those publishing on this page are responsible for their own remarks and actions, and we do not necessarily support or endorse their statements.

Twitter: To learn more about us on Twitter, you can follow the account @electionsQuebec or the #DGEQ hashtag. Other hashtags may also be used depending on the circumstances if they are relevant. A subscription with our account does not automatically mean that we are subscribed with yours. Our decision to follow a Twitter account does not mean that we support or endorse the remarks or activities found on it. Moreover, our decision to republish another user’s retweet does not imply that we agree with this user and does not indicate a change in our official position. Followers of our Twitter account have no link with the Chief Electoral Officer, as a person or an institution, and follow us of their own free will. We are not responsible for their activities or their remarks. Tweets mentioning @electionsQuebec are not endorsed or supported by us. We reserve the right to block or remove followers at any time if we deem their actions or remarks inappropriate. Given the 140 character limit imposed by Twitter, we have shortened our hyperlinks with the Bit.ly or Owl.ly applications. We have absolutely no ties with these online services.

Net surfers may alert us to any abuse or violation of netiquette by contacting our customer service department, at 1-888-ELECTION (1-888-353-2846), or by sending us an email, at mediassociaux@dgeq.qc.ca. Any other questions or observations concerning the social media may also be sent to this address.

For all official correspondence, please use the Contact us section of our website. We invite the various media to submit their requests by following the usual procedure, i.e. by dialing 418-644-3320 or calling toll free, at 1-888-870-3320. You may also send the request by email, at servicemedias@dgeq.qc.ca.

Accueil > Nétiquette

Nétiquette

Nous sommes tenus de respecter la confidentialité des renseignements personnels que les usagers peuvent nous transmettre. Cependant, il est fortement suggéré de prendre contact directement avec notre centre de renseignements au 1 888 ÉLECTION (1 888 353-2846) ou par courriel au info@electionsquebec.qc.ca pour des questions demandant l’accès à votre dossier personnel. Protégez vos renseignements personnels ainsi que ceux des autres internautes; la prudence et la réserve sont de rigueur lorsque l’on navigue sur le Web. Nous ne pouvons pas traiter d’un cas ou d’un dossier personnel sur les médias sociaux.

Que ce soit pour lancer une discussion, poser une question, émettre un point de vue ou une critique constructive, votre opinion nous intéresse. Nos comptes s’adressent aux personnes de toutes orientations politiques. Nous favorisons les échanges d’opinions et une discussion ouverte, mais respectueuse; tout commentaire sera pris en considération, à l’exception des cas énumérés ci-dessous :

  • Les propos incompréhensibles;
  • Les propos diffamatoires, haineux, racistes, homophobes, sexistes, xénophobes ou tout simplement disgracieux;
  • Les propos injurieux, vulgaires ou offensants;
  • Les propos qui contreviennent à une loi;
  • Les propos contenant des données personnelles ou confidentielles;
  • Les publicités, réelles ou dissimulées, ainsi que la propagande;
  • Les messages publiés à de multiples reprises ou complètement hors sujet.

Le partage d’idées et les échanges sont appréciés et encouragés, cependant, nous n’acceptons pas que la personne qui exprime ses idées soit attaquée. C’est pourquoi les commentaires ne respectant pas la nétiquette seront modérés ou supprimés. Dans l’objectif de favoriser une discussion respectueuse, nous supprimerons les commentaires offensants. Il est aussi important d’entretenir une discussion qui profite à l’ensemble des usagers; il est beaucoup moins intéressant qu’une discussion se transforme en débat privé entre quelques participants.

L’usurpation de l’identité d’une personne est une infraction grave. Tout utilisateur qui utilise un faux compte ou de multiples identités se verra retirer ses privilèges d’accès et sera signalé aux autorités responsables du média social concerné.

Les échanges sur les différents comptes sociaux que nous utilisons doivent être identifiés; cependant, un internaute peut consulter ces comptes sans avoir à le faire. Il ne faut pas oublier que lorsque du contenu est publié sur le Web, celui-ci est indexé par les moteurs de recherche. Il ne sera pas nécessairement retiré même si l’auteur en fait la demande; c’est pourquoi tout propos énoncé sur les médias sociaux doit être réfléchi.

Plusieurs de nos employés possèdent un compte sur certains médias sociaux comme Twitter ou Facebook. Certains s’identifient comme employés du Directeur général des élections. Malgré leur affiliation professionnelle, leurs messages et prises de position ne représentent pas notre position officielle et doivent être considérés comme des opinions personnelles.

L’ajout d’hyperliens vers d’autres sites est autorisé si le contenu est pertinent et porte sur les discussions ou les sujets abordés. La publicité et la pollution ne seront pas tolérées. Nous n'endossons en aucun cas ces sites tiers et leur contenu.

Si vous désirez publier des photos ou des vidéos sur une de nos plates-formes Web, assurez-vous que les fichiers soient du domaine public, et que vous avez l’autorisation de l’auteur et des personnes qui y apparaissent.

Le non-respect des règles énoncées dans la présente nétiquette par un utilisateur peut mener à la suppression sans préavis de ses interventions et à la suspension de ses privilèges d’accès à nos comptes.

Comme les médias sociaux évoluent rapidement, nous nous réservons le droit de modifier ces règles d’utilisation en tout temps et sans avertissement. N’hésitez pas à consulter cette page régulièrement.   

Règles spécifiques à certains médias sociaux

Facebook : Nous n'avons pas de contrôle sur les publicités intuitives générées automatiquement par Facebook sur les côtés de sa page, y compris celles à caractère politique. Nous ne sommes pas responsables et n’endossons aucunement ces publicités. Chaque personne publiant sur cette page est responsable de ses propos et actions, et nous n’appuyons ou n’endossons pas nécessairement ses dires.

Twitter : Pour vous informer à propos de nous sur Twitter, vous pouvez suivre le compte @electionsQuebec ou le mot-clic (hashtag) #DGEQ. De plus, d’autres hashtags peuvent être utilisés selon leur pertinence ainsi que selon les circonstances. Tout abonnement à notre compte n’entraîne pas un abonnement automatique de notre part à votre compte. Notre décision de suivre un compte Twitter ne signifie pas que nous appuyons ou endossons ses propos ou ses activités. De plus, notre décision de republier un microbillet (retweet) d’un autre utilisateur ne signifie pas que nous approuvons cet utilisateur et n’indique pas un changement de notre position officielle. Les abonnés de notre compte Twitter (followers) n’ont aucun lien avec le DGE, et nous suivent de leur propre chef. Nous ne sommes pas responsables de leurs activités ainsi que de leurs propos. Les microbillets (tweets) mentionnant @electionsQuebec ne sont pas endossés ou appuyés par le DGE. Nous nous réservons le droit de bloquer ou de retirer en tout temps un abonné si nous jugeons ses actions ou ses propos inappropriés. En raison de la limite de 140 caractères imposée par Twitter, nous raccourcissons nos hyperliens avec les applications Bit.ly ou Owl.ly. Nous ne sommes aucunement associés à ces services en ligne. 

Les internautes peuvent signaler un abus ou un non-respect de la nétiquette en contactant notre service à la clientèle au 1 888 ÉLECTION (1 888 353-2846) ou en écrivant un courriel au mediassociaux@dgeq.qc.ca. Toute autre question ou tout autre commentaire concernant les médias sociaux peut aussi être envoyé à cette adresse.

Pour toute correspondance officielle, veuillez utiliser la section Nous joindre de notre site Web. Nous invitons les médias à soumettre leurs demandes en suivant le processus habituel, soit par téléphone au 418 644-3320 ou sans frais au 1 888 870-3320. Il est aussi possible de transmettre la demande par courriel à servicemedias@dgeq.qc.ca.